Nominees Announced for 2015-16 Honda Sport Award for Gymnastics

Nominees Announced for 2015-16 Honda Sport Award for Gymnastics

Lindsay Mable from the University of Minnesota, University of Denver’s Nina McGee, Elizabeth Price from Stanford University and University of Florida’s Bridget Sloan are the four nominees for the Honda Sport Award for gymnastics as announced by Chris Voelz, Executive Director of THE Collegiate Women Sports Awards (CWSA) today.

The Honda Sport Award has been presented annually by the CWSA for the past 40 years to the top women athletes in 12 NCAA- sanctioned sports and signifies “the best of the best in collegiate athletics”.  The winner of the sport award becomes a finalist for the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year and the prestigious 2016 Honda Cup which will be presented on a live telecast on June 27, 2016, in the Founders’ Room at the Galen Center on the campus of the University of Southern California in downtown Los, Angeles.

The nominees were chosen by a panel of experts and coaches representing the National Association of Collegiate Gymnastics Coaches/Women (NACGCW). The Honda Sport award winner for gymnastics will be announced next week after voting by administrators from over 1,000 NCAA member schools. Each NCAA member institution has a vote.

Mable, a senior from Aurora, Colo., repeats as a Honda Sport Award nominee after being a finalist last year. She is the 2016 AAI Award recipient given to the nation’s most outstanding senior gymnast. The two-time Big Ten Gymnast of the Year, she has 18 career All-America accolades, including seven this season and was the Big Ten individual title winner in all-around and beam. She is the female recipient of the Big Ten Wayne Duke Postgraduate Award and is a three-time academic All-Ben Ten honoree.

McGee is a senior from Cincinnati, Ohio, and was the 2016 NCAA Champion in the floor exercise. It was the first NCAA title in Denver’s history and she is the DU record holder for all-around score (39.775), floor score (10.0) and hold the most career individual titles (96). She is a two-time Conference Gymnast of the Year (Big 12/MRGC), posted 36 individual titles in 2016 and boasts 13 career All-American honors including seven first-team this season.

Price hails from Coopersburg, Pa., and as a sophomore already has 10 first-team All-American honors. The Pac-12 Gymnast of the Year, she won 30 events in 2016 and finished fourth overall in all-around at the NCAA Championship. A two-time first-team Pac-12 honoree, she was the co-Pac-12 champion in bars and was the NCAA Regional Champion in the all-around, bars and floor.

Sloan, a senior from Pittsboro, Ind., was the Honda Sport Award winner as a freshman in 2013 and is once again a nominee as a senior. She was the NCAA all-around champion in 2016 and shared NCAA uneven bars and balance beam titles- all wins were second of career for each event. Her six career NCAA titles are third in NCAA Championship’s 35-year history. She was the only gymnast to earn All-American honors for each event at 2016 NCAA Championships and all five were first-team honors.

Kytra Hunter of the University of Florida won the Honda Sport Award for Gymnastics in 2015. Three student-athletes from the sport of gymnastics have gone on to win the prestigious Honda Cup, Kim Jacob (2014-University of Alabama), Courtney Kupets (2009-University of Georgia) and Missy Marlowe (1992-University of Utah).

The CWSA, celebrating its 40th year, has honored the nation’s top NCAA women athletes recognizing superior athletic skills, leadership, academic excellence and eagerness to participate in community service.  Since commencing its sponsorship in 1986, Honda has provided more than $3.0 million in institutional grants to the universities of the award winners and nominees to support women’s athletics programs at the institutions.