UConn’s Breanna Stewart Repeats As Honda Basketball Sport Award Winner

UConn’s Breanna Stewart Repeats As Honda Basketball Sport Award Winner

For the second year in a row, junior guard Breanna Stewart (Syracuse, N.Y.) of UConn was named the Honda Sports Award winner for basketball as announced by Chris Voelz, Executive Director of THE Collegiate Women Sports Awards (CWSA) today.

The Honda Sports Award is presented annually by the CWSA to the top women athletes in 12 NCAA- sanctioned sports and signifies “the best of the best in collegiate athletics”.  With this honor, Stewart becomes a finalist for the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year and the prestigious 2015 Honda Cup, which will be presented on June 29th in a nationally televised live broadcast on CBS Sports Network at 6 pm PT/9 pm ET from Los Angeles, Calif.

Stewart, the 2014 Sport Award recipient, was chosen by a vote of administrators from over 1,000 NCAA member schools. Finalists included teammate Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis, Jewelly Loyd (Notre Dame) and Tiffany Mitchell (South Carolina).

 “Wow! “exclaimed Stewart. “I am honored to once again be chosen as the recipient of the Honda Award for women’s basketball.  I want to thank Honda, and the administrators who selected me as the winner of this prestigious honor.  I would also like to thank my coaches, teammates and my family.  Without them, I would not be where I am today.  Thank you again and I will continue to represent the Honda Award with dignity.”

Stewart is a two-time consensus First-Team All-American as well as a two-time consensus Player of the Year earning the Naismith, Associated Press, USBWA, and WBCA National Player of the Year honors again this season.

She was named the NCAA Final Four Most Outstanding Performer after leading her Huskies to their third consecutive national title and 10th overall. The two-time American Athletic Conference Player of the Year, she won the Honda Sport award last year for basketball and also captured the Top Three award, being named one of three finalists for the 2014 Honda Cup.

This season she averaged 17.6 points, 7.8 rebounds, 3.1 assists, 1.6 steals and 2.7 blocks per game.

Basketball has produced the most Honda Cup award winners with 15 student-athletes in the sport winning the prestigious honor. Most recently Brittney Griner of Baylor earned the honor in 2012 preceded by Connecticut's Maya Moore who had back-to-back wins in 2010 and 2011.

THE Collegiate Women Sports Awards has honored the nation’s top NCAA women athletes for 37 years, recognizing superior athletic skills, leadership, academic excellence and eagerness to participate in community service.   Since commencing its sponsorship in 1986, Honda has provided more than $2.7 million in institutional grants to the universities of the award winners and nominees to support women’s athletics programs at the institutions.